fbpx

营养健康–健康饮食超过50秒钟

by | 15月2021日,XNUMX | 珍珠家居护理 | 0评论

对于那些希望自己独立生活的人来说,营养健康至关重要。 食欲下降或购买和制备健康食品的能力降低可能会导致健康状况恶化,受伤以及需要更复杂的老年护理。

如果您正在寻找一种健康的饮食方法,那么专家们认为答案并不是新事物。 数百年来,特别是一种文化引领着健康饮食。 现在被广泛称为 地中海饮食 全球科学研究已证明它是普遍推荐的健康饮食方法。

对地中海式饮食的研究始于1960年代,当时人们注意到,包括希腊,意大利和西班牙在内的这些国家的人死于冠心病的人数少于包括北欧和美国在内的其他发达国家。

这个调查 通过测试表明这种饮食方式可以帮助减少心脏病,高血压,痴呆症和疾病,继续使科学家兴奋。 这些状况可能会在以后几年中使人衰弱,甚至导致过早死亡。

1993年,哈佛大学公共卫生学院与世界卫生组织合作,引入了地中海饮食金字塔,以此作为一种教育方法来分享当时新发现的研究成果。 该指南向人们介绍了这种饮食方法的基础和结构,使人们更容易理解营养保健并将其纳入日常生活。

金字塔遵循包括希腊和意大利等文化背景的人们的基本饮食计划,自25年前首次共享以来,其信息一直保持一致。

那么什么是地中海饮食?

食品小组的建议来自对地中海国家健康老龄化人口的研究。 很快发现,这些地区的老年人心脏病发病率要低得多,而且随着年龄的增长,他们的健康状况会更好,而我们在其他第一世界国家中所没有看到的医疗干预措施也是如此。

食物的方法主要是基于植物的,这意味着很多水果和蔬菜。 它还包含全谷物,橄榄油,瘦肉蛋白,少量的乳制品,豆类,坚果,药草和香料。

地中海饮食金字塔还带来了生活方式因素,并突出表明,这不仅仅是我们吃的东西,还包括何时,如何以及与谁在一起。

对健康脂肪的重视也与从1970年代开始流行的低脂方法不同。

推荐健康饮食的关键食品分为以下几类

  • 蔬菜–颜色丰富,种类繁多,尤其是许多绿叶蔬菜。 在可能的情况下,本地和季节性总是最好的。
  • 水果-当地的,季节性的和又彩色的。 关于橙子,柠檬,苹果,樱桃和鳄梨。
  • 坚果,种子和豆类-在这里可以找到对人体健康(包括大脑健康)至关重要的优质必需脂肪。 生坚果和种子,以及炖煮的咖喱扁豆和鹰嘴豆都很棒。
  • 谷物-粗粮是最好的,了解它们之间的差异很重要。 避免食用加工的面包,面食和白面粉产品,并坚持吃大麦,荞麦(不是谷物,但可以原样使用),藜麦,燕麦和大米等全谷类食品。
  • 草药和香料–使烹饪具有美丽而丰富的风味,并增加基本的风味。 欧芹,罗勒,迷迭香,牛至,茴香,小茴香,姜黄,薄荷和丁香是您烹饪中的丰富多彩添加物,如果从后门附近的锅里新鲜采摘,则更好。
  • 鱼和海鲜–每周几次,含必需脂肪酸的鱼是一个不错的选择,包括新鲜的鲑鱼,金枪鱼,沙丁鱼,牡蛎和贻贝。 尽量避免镀锡品种,这些罐头品种通常会去除其天然油,并用植物油代替。
  • 油脂–特级初榨橄榄油是首选的油,其他坚果油也包括杏仁油,亚麻籽油和椰子油。 油最好是生的(不像油炸或煎炸那样受热),冷榨(在标签上注明)并储存在深色玻璃中。 避免使用植物油,包括菜籽油。
  • 乳制品–少量全脂天然或希腊风格的酸奶对肠道健康有益,像奶酪,羊乳酪,意大利乳清干酪和帕马森奶酪-雷吉亚诺奶酪一样。
  • 家禽和鸡蛋–每周几次鸡肉和鸭肉以及每周几次鸡蛋是有益的。
  • 肉类-少量的红肉是可选的。
  • 糖果–在生活中享受甜食对于保持良好的健康状态很重要,在那些特殊的时刻,只需要加以限制和保存即可。

传统文化食品传统组织(Oldways Cultural Food Traditions)是美国颇具影响力的食品和营养非营利组织,数十年来一直与哈佛大学公共卫生学院合作进行这项研究,在社区中共享信息以帮助他人。

老办法' 易于遵循的指南 明确建议吃什么食物和优先次序。 对于许多美味的地中海风格食谱,请看一看 广泛的图书馆 为您和您的家人准备的美味佳肴。

与您的医生或专家联系,以获取有关如何将这种积极的饮食方式纳入日常工作的更多建议。

为了帮助您维持营养健康,Pearl家庭护理团队可以帮助您在食品储藏室和冰箱中存放最好的食物,并可以帮助您准备饭菜以使健康饮食更加轻松。

参加社交活动可以使您的用餐重新获得乐趣,并具有克服潜力的双重好处 社会隔离.

要在家里安排一些额外的帮助,请联系就近的 珍珠家庭护理办公室 进行无义务讨论。

最新动态

写回忆录——一个丰富我们晚年的项目

除了积极的情感和精神上的好处,写作是最容易获得的创造性追求之一,需要最少的资源或体力。 它可以像几行诗一样简单,可以是史诗般的回忆录,也可以是介于两者之间的任何内容。 这里有 5 种简单而有趣的方法可以将写作带入您的日常生活。

睡眠与衰老:让老年人睡个好觉的秘诀

睡眠对于身体、心理和情绪健康至关重要。 睡眠不足的负面影响与一系列疾病有关,从体重增加和肥胖到神经系统疾病。 对于一些人来说,享受平静、不受干扰的睡眠是他们健康生活的一部分,他们醒来后会感觉神清气爽,准备开始新的一天。 但对于其他人来说,体验却恰恰相反。

0条评论

提交评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

fbpx

Nutritional wellness – healthy eating for over 50s

by | Apr 15, 2021 | Pearl Home Care | 0 comments

For those looking to remain living independently in their own home, nutritional wellness is vital. A decreased appetite or reduced ability to buy and prepare healthy foods can contribute to poor wellbeing, injury and the need for more complex aged care.

If you’re looking for a healthy approach to diet, the experts agree it’s not what’s new where the answers lie. One culture in particular has led the way in healthy eating for centuries. What’s now widely known as the Mediterranean Diet has been proven through global scientific research to be the universally recommended approach to healthy eating.

Inquiry into the Mediterranean style of eating began in the 1960s when it was noted that people in these countries, including Greece, Italy and Spain, had fewer deaths from coronary heart disease than other developed countries including northern Europe and the USA.

The research has continued to excite scientists with tests revealing this style of eating can help to reduce heart disease, high blood pressure, dementia and disease. These are conditions that can be debilitating in later years and even lead to premature death.

In 1993, the Harvard School of Public Health, in partnership with the World Health Organization, introduced the Mediterranean Diet pyramid as an educative approach to sharing the then newly-discovered research. The guide informs people on the basis and structure of this approach to eating, making it easier to understand and incorporate nutritional wellness into daily living.

The pyramid follows the fundamental eating plan of people from cultures including Greece and Italy and has remained consistent in its information since first shared over 25 years ago.

So what is the Mediterranean Diet?

Food group recommendations come from the research conducted on healthy ageing populations in Mediterranean countries. It was quickly observed that ageing people in these regions had much lower rates of heart disease and were living in better health as they aged, without the medical intervention we see in other first world countries.

The approach to food is primarily plant based, meaning lots of fruits and vegetables. It also incorporates whole grains, olive oil, lean protein, a small amount of dairy, legumes, nuts, herbs and spices.

The Mediterranean Diet pyramid also brings in lifestyle factors, highlighting it isn’t just what we eat but when, how and with whom.

There’s also a good emphasis on healthy fats which differs from the low-fat approach that was popular from the 1970s onwards.

The key foods recommended for healthy eatingare in the following groups

  • Vegetables – lots of colour, variety and especially lots of green leafy vegetables. Local and seasonal are always best, where possible.
  • Fruits – local, seasonal and again colourful. Thing about oranges, lemons, apples, cherries and avocados.
  • Nuts, seeds and legumes – this is where good essential fats are found which are vital to the health of the body including brain health. Raw nuts and seeds can be wonderful, as well as cooked lentils and chickpeas in stews and curries.
  • Grains – whole grains are best and it’s important to know the difference. Avoid processed breads, pastas and white flour products and stick to full grain like barley, buckwheat (which is not a grain but can be used as such), quinoa, oats and rice.
  • Herbs and spices – to give beautiful, rich flavours to cooking and add essential goodness. Parsley, basil, rosemary, oregano, fennel, cumin, turmeric, mint and cloves are colourful additions to your cooking and even better if freshly picked from a pot near the back door.
  • Fish and seafood – a few times a week, fish with essential fatty acids is a positive choice, including fresh salmon, tuna, sardines, oysters and mussels. Try to avoid tinned varieties which usually have their natural oils removed and replaced with vegetable oils.
  • Oils and fats – extra virgin olive oil is the preferred oil, as are other nut oils including almond oil, flaxseed oil and coconut oil. Oils are best raw (not subjected to heat like frying or sautéing), cold pressed, which is noted on the label, and stored in dark coloured glass. Avoid vegetable oils including canola oil.
  • Dairy – a small amount of full-fat natural or Greek style yoghurt is good for the health of the gut, as are some cheeses like feta, ricotta and Parmigiano-Reggiano.
  • Poultry and eggs – chicken and duck a few times a week as well as a few eggs each week can be beneficial.
  • Meats – small amounts of red meat are optional.
  • Sweets – enjoying sweet treats in life is important for positive wellbeing, they just need to be limited and saved for those special moments.

Oldways Cultural Food Traditions is an influential food and nutrition non-profit in the USA that has been working with the Harvard School of Public Health over the decades on this research, sharing information in the community to help others.

Oldways’ easy to follow guide makes clear recommendations on what foods to eat and prioritise. And for lots of delicious Mediterranean style recipes, take a look at their extensive library of wonderful foods to prepare for yourself and your family.

Speak to your doctor or specialist for more recommendations on how to incorporate this positive way of eating into your daily routine.

To assist you to maintain nutritional wellness, the Pearl Home Care team can help to keep your pantry and fridge stocked with the best foods and can assist with meal preparation to make healthy eating easier.

Making eating a social event can bring enjoyment back to your meals and have the dual benefit of overcoming potential social isolation.

To arrange some extra assistance around the home, contact your nearest Pearl Home Care office for a no obligation discussion.

Recent Posts

7 tips to keep the home safe and accessible as we age

Ageing in place can be important for a positive quality of life, including promoting healthy social connections and maintaining independence. We’ve put together 7 strategies to keep the home safer and more accessible for you and your ageing loved ones.

Spring into gardening! 7 tips to get your garden blooming

The familiar signs are here that spring has arrived and now is the perfect time for home gardeners to get their hands dirty! We’ve put together 7 tips to help resume your gardening routine or to start a new one this spring.

Writing a memoir – an enriching project in our later years

Aside from the positive emotional and mental benefits, writing is one of the most accessible creative pursuits, requiring minimal resources or physical effort. It can be as simple as a few lines of poetry through to an epic memoir and anything in between. Here are 5 simple and fun ways to bring writing into your daily life.

Sleep and ageing: tips for a good night’s sleep for seniors

Sleep is essential for physical, mental and emotional health. The negative effects from lack of sleep are linked to a range of conditions from weight gain and obesity through to neurological disorders. For some, enjoying a peaceful, undisturbed sleep is part of their healthy routine and they wake feeling refreshed and ready to start the day. But for others, the experience is the opposite.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *