fbpx

社会隔离:解决老年护理最大的健康问题之一

by | 19年2021月XNUMX日 | 珍珠家居护理 | 0评论

社会隔离是一个影响问题的问题 三分之一的澳大利亚人 甚至在该术语通过COVID-19变得司空见惯之前。 地球上有将近XNUMX亿人,令人难以接受的是人们感到孤独,与世隔绝和与世隔绝。 澳大利亚的弱势群体,例如我们的衰老和残疾人,正在感受到这些影响他们健康的全部力量。 澳大利亚被认为是最友好和最容易居住的国家之一,那么为什么高年级的人或残疾人经常生活在孤立的社会中? 越来越多的人选择拒绝居住的老年护理,并在他们的健康允许的范围内一直待在家里。 在这个新的COVIDnormal中,正是这些人需要我们的社区树立意识,以帮助他们避免社会隔离。

 

社会隔离是当今老年护理中最重要的主题之一。 澳大利亚心理学会指出“孤单 当他们的社交关系不是他们想要的方式时,这就是人们经历的一种痛苦的感觉。” 我们的城市以快速,压力大的生活方式为步伐,越来越倾向于年轻人,这常常使老年人脱离他们数十年来一直居住的社区。

是什么导致社会孤立?

有许多复杂的原因可能导致人们在孤立或孤僻的环境中生活在我们的社区中。 随着年龄的增长,可能会影响此的因素包括:

  • 流动性变化和限制:我们无法控制的事情可能是导致我们轻松移动能力受到限制的原因。 这会在离开家时带来恐惧,甚至使我们自己的家感到不安全。 我们可能不再能够在社区中外出或做我们一直以来所热爱的事情。 这可能包括不再开车,改变当地公交路线或过去曾经无法提供帮助的亲朋好友。
  • 疲劳和疲惫加剧:我们的健康和健身状况改变可能意味着我们不再觉得自己像过去那样充满活力地进入社区,使我们处于受限和居家状态。
  • 情绪健康下降:衰老会导致自身的沮丧。 可能一生都是社交性和外向型的人现在可能会感到沮丧和退缩,不再有信心在人们中脱颖而出。
  • 改变常规:这可能是突然的或渐进的。 例行程序为我们提供了坚实的支持。 当我们失去使我们保持稳定的活动时,很容易退出和断开连接。 更改可能包括不再与朋友或同事进行定期的接洽,友好的邻居搬出当地地区,或者关闭熟悉的商店和服务,使该社区感到陌生。 所有这些事情都通过变革带来挑战,而且随着我们年龄的增长,很容易使我们疏远。
  • 财务限制:生活现在变得非常昂贵。 随着年龄的增长,对财务的担忧是很自然的。 老年护理和支持似乎遥不可及。 我们可能会觉得我们不再有经济能力去做过去喜欢和喜欢的事情,例如与朋友共进午餐或去看照片或表演。
  • 社区参与的变化:离开工作是改变我们与周围社区互动和互动方式的主要发起者之一。 对于某些人来说,这可能会随着人生目标的改变而产生不利影响。 我们不再与长期的朋友和同事一起度过几天,也不再去拜访作为我们日常工作一部分的其他设施和服务。

社会孤立很难单独解决。 成功的干预措施和策略来自整个社会,社区和我们周围的人。 随着新的创造性和包容性战略开始浮现,我们已经亲眼目睹了这一现象。 这些干预主义策略对于在危机爆发之前帮助家庭中的老年人提供护理和支持至关重要。

一种这样的程序是 一条好街 由当地临床医生Matiu Bush于2018年在墨尔本成立。 一条好街通过一个新的社交网站解决了社交孤立的问题。 人们通过他们的街道网络在平台上进行连接,然后被鼓励与他们接触,接触并培养对可能成为社会隔离候选人的人们的了解。 一旦有一定比例的街道签了字,这条街道就会在Google地图上作为热点地图突出显示,并指​​出这是一个适合年龄的积极地方,因此有动机去吸引尽可能多的人。 这是许多新的令人振奋的举措之一,它使社区更加紧密地联系在一起,并帮助居家生活的人们感受到其中的一部分,同时获得他们所需要的老年护理和支持。

社区欢迎在老年护理方面采取更积极的措施,以帮助消除社会隔离。 新程序如雨后春笋般冒出来 骑到尽头的寂寞, 该活动将老年人与骑自行车的人配对,使您可以在附近享受骑自行车的乐趣。 自行车专用于前排的儿童车座椅,让乘客倍感舒适。

砂锅俱乐部 这是我们社区中突然出现的另一种很棒的程序,它是一种简单而友好的方式来共享邻居做的饭。 不像轮上用餐,一个人可以独自吃饭,您可以留下来与邻居分享美食,同时享受对话和陪伴。

定期有人打电话给一个人住很可能可以挽救生命。 它不仅是保持联系和避免社会孤立的一种可访问的方式,而且还可以使人们参与他们所认识和喜爱的社区。 无论是在有需要的时候,还是在cuppa上轻松地聊天,友好的访客都可以对某人的健康产生巨大影响。 这些都是复杂难题中至关重要的部分,以确保适当的老化是一个快乐,积极的时刻。

如果您对此有任何疑问,请与您最近的公司联系。 珍珠家庭护理办公室 无需承担任何义务,进行居家养老评估。

最新动态

写回忆录——一个丰富我们晚年的项目

除了积极的情感和精神上的好处,写作是最容易获得的创造性追求之一,需要最少的资源或体力。 它可以像几行诗一样简单,可以是史诗般的回忆录,也可以是介于两者之间的任何内容。 这里有 5 种简单而有趣的方法可以将写作带入您的日常生活。

睡眠与衰老:让老年人睡个好觉的秘诀

睡眠对于身体、心理和情绪健康至关重要。 睡眠不足的负面影响与一系列疾病有关,从体重增加和肥胖到神经系统疾病。 对于一些人来说,享受平静、不受干扰的睡眠是他们健康生活的一部分,他们醒来后会感觉神清气爽,准备开始新的一天。 但对于其他人来说,体验却恰恰相反。

0条评论

提交评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

fbpx

Social Isolation: Solving one of Aged Care’s biggest health issues

by | Mar 19, 2021 | Pearl Home Care | 0 comments

Social isolation was a problem affecting one in three Australians even before this term became commonplace through COVID-19. With nearly seven billion people on our planet, it’s hard to accept that people are feeling alone, disconnected and isolated. Vulnerable Australian’s, such as our ageing and the disabled are feeling the full force of these impacts on their health. Australia is known as one of the friendliest and easiest countries to live in, so why are people in their senior years or the disabled often living in social isolation? More and more people are choosing to say no to residential aged care, and to remain at home for as long as their health allows. In this new COVIDnormal, it’s these people that our communities need to build an awareness for to help them avoid social isolation.

 

Social isolation is one of the most important topics in aged care today. The Australian Psychological Society states ‘loneliness is a feeling of distress people experience when their social relations are not the way they would like’. Our cities are becoming more orientated towards younger people, paced by fast, pressured lifestyles, which often alienate the elderly from communities they have called home for decades.

What leads to social isolation?

There are many complex reasons that can lead to people living in our communities under isolated or withdrawn circumstances. Things that may affect this as we age include:

  • Mobility changes and restrictions: things beyond our control we may be the cause of limitations to our abilities to move with ease. This can bring on fear in leaving the home and even feeling unsafe in our own home. We may no longer be able to be out in the community or doing what we’ve always loved. This could include no longer driving, local bus routes changing or friends and family who used to assist no longer able to.
  • Increased fatigue and exhaustion: our health and fitness changes may mean we no longer feel we have the energy to head out into the community like we used to, keeping us restricted and homebound.
  • Decline in emotional wellbeing: ageing can bring on its own depression. Someone who may have been social and outgoing throughout life, may now be depressed and withdrawn, no longer having the confidence to be out among people.
  • Change of routine: this could be sudden or gradual. l Routine gives us solid support. When we lose the activities that keep us stable, it is easy to withdraw and disconnect. Changes may include no longer having regular catch-ups with friends or colleagues, friendly neighbours moving out of the local area, or the closure of familiar shops and services making the neighbourhood feel foreign. All such things pose challenges through change and, as we age, can very easily alienate us.
  • Financial limitations: life has now become very expensive. As we age it’s only natural to feel concerned about finances. Aged care and support may seem out of reach. We may feel we no longer have the financial capacity to do the things we used to love and enjoy, like share lunch with a friend or go to the pictures or a show.
  • Changes in our community participation: leaving work is one of the big initiators in shifting how we engage and interact with the community around us. For some, this can have a detrimental impact as life’s purpose changes. We are no longer spending days with long-time friends and work colleagues or visiting other facilities and services that were a part of our work routine.

Social isolation is very hard to address alone. Successful interventions and strategies come through society, the community and people around us. We’ve seen this firsthand as new creative and inclusive strategies have begun to surface. These interventionist strategies are vital at helping people with in home aged care and support, before crisis sets in.

One such program is One Good Street founded in Melbourne in 2018 by local clinician Matiu Bush. One Good Street addresses social isolation through a new social networking website. People connect on the platform via their street networks and are then encouraged to engage, reach out and cultivate awareness of those in their street who are likely candidates for social isolation. Once a percentage of the street has signed up, the street is highlighted on Google maps as a heat map, noting it as a positive place to age, so there’s motivation to get as many on board as possible. It’s one of many new exciting initiatives that are bringing communities closer together and assisting those living at home to feel a part of it, while getting the aged care and support they need.

Communities are welcoming more positive initiatives in aged care helping to make an impact to end social isolation. New programs are popping like the Ride to End Loneliness, which pairs older people with a cyclist to enjoy a session riding around the neighbourhood. The bikes are purpose fit with a buggy seat at the front for the passenger to enjoy in comfort.

Casserole Clubs are another great program popping up in our communities as a simple and friendly way to share a neighbour–made meal. Unlike Meals on Wheels, where the person is left to eat alone, you stay and share your meal with your neighbour, simultaneously enjoying conversation and company.

Having someone call in on a regular basis could quite possibly be a life saver for someone living alone. Not only is it an accessible way to maintain connection and avoid social isolation, but it keeps people engaged in the community that they know and love. Whether it be in times of need, or for a lighthearted chat over a cuppa, a friendly visitor can make an immense impact on someone’s health. These are all vital pieces in a complex puzzle to ensure ageing in place is a happy, positive time.

If this has raised any concerns for you, please contact your nearest Pearl Home Care office for a no obligation, in home aged care assessment.

Recent Posts

7 tips to keep the home safe and accessible as we age

Ageing in place can be important for a positive quality of life, including promoting healthy social connections and maintaining independence. We’ve put together 7 strategies to keep the home safer and more accessible for you and your ageing loved ones.

Spring into gardening! 7 tips to get your garden blooming

The familiar signs are here that spring has arrived and now is the perfect time for home gardeners to get their hands dirty! We’ve put together 7 tips to help resume your gardening routine or to start a new one this spring.

Writing a memoir – an enriching project in our later years

Aside from the positive emotional and mental benefits, writing is one of the most accessible creative pursuits, requiring minimal resources or physical effort. It can be as simple as a few lines of poetry through to an epic memoir and anything in between. Here are 5 simple and fun ways to bring writing into your daily life.

Sleep and ageing: tips for a good night’s sleep for seniors

Sleep is essential for physical, mental and emotional health. The negative effects from lack of sleep are linked to a range of conditions from weight gain and obesity through to neurological disorders. For some, enjoying a peaceful, undisturbed sleep is part of their healthy routine and they wake feeling refreshed and ready to start the day. But for others, the experience is the opposite.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *